Ambitious GLOBETROTTER

I have a dream- a dream to be an ambitious globetrotter. Meeting new faces, living in a rustic building or in a fancy hotel near the Eiffel Tower, my mouth having a tête-à-tête with different delicacies; I just love it. I love the feeling of being unknown, a stranger to the world. I love the feeling of facing various challenges in accommodating myself in  different unexpected circumstances. The fission of fear and freedom. It makes me feel lost. I feel ethereal in the tranquillity of serene beauty. From the rocky coast to the almighty mountains, from the dilapidated slums to the hustle of the metropolitan city. I love the adrenaline rush when I let myself absorb the best out of everything. It’s so much than just travelling or meeting new people, I love the fact that I get to build so much connection, get to learn the true wisdom and above all , get to know myself better, try to decipher where I lie in the broader framework of humanity.
I want to unwind, relax and know myself.

FullSizeRender
I come from a family where everyone is travelling all the time. I grew up hearing their wonderful stories. Heard them talk about the time when my dad got drenched at Venice, or when he lost his way on the streets of Salzburg. I see my Dad’s picture hung on the wall, imitating the Statue of Liberty and my mom smiling on the streets of Taipei. My brother is next to them in a Chinese looking frame, standing proudly on the Great Wall of China. Just to see them travel around the world and learn so much about the real world, makes me desperate to travel around.

I want to scuba dive in the dizzying array of marine wonderland at the Great Barrier Reef and surf to my hearts content at the pristine sea of Hawaii. I want to be a part of the Spanish  tsunami of red glop playing a handful of tomatoes during the Tomatina festival.I want to hike deep into the Grand Canyon and enjoy the fantastic back-country cuisine, learn about the fascinating culture . I want to stand, in no man’s land between two countries, atop the Victoria falls bridge and bungee jump. I want to be at the centre court of Wimbledon and cheer for my favourite player, Sharapova and Federer (if they are still playing). I want to bypass the crowds at the Eiffel Tower and dig into the history of the Ancient Rome. I want to imagine the Royal life on a castle tour from the Neuschwanstein Castle in Munich to Weikersdorf castle in Vienna. I wanna see New York City from above, get panoramic view of some of the world’s most famous buildings from 70 stories up at the Top of the rock observation deck, or go even higher to 86 stories at the Empire State Building.
IMG_4055
The more I interact with those who don’t speak my language, whether that is my mother tongue or the language of my actions, the more I will get accustomed to it and less I fear doing so. My past experience of travelling has shown me how much every single person in this world has to offer every  other person. Everyone has a story and a set of valuable skills. Listening to any person’s unique life path will undoubtedly add something to ours.

Anything worth doing is accompanied by pain, isn’t it? The things we want are always accompanied by either physical or emotional difficulties, and it is often that pain that makes the joy so joyous in the end. When I’m at the alleviation of 8846 m alternating between shivering and sweating, panting like dog,  and more or less crawling up the trail, I’ll probably conjure the small amount of oxygen I have left in my lungs to shout how much I’m grateful to have this life. It’s easy for me to sit down here and talk about how much the pain will be worth it. But one thing’s for sure: even if I am miserable, even if I fail at accomplishing my goal,even if I am crawling across at a snail’s pace, I will keep going.


IMG_4058


2 thoughts on “Ambitious GLOBETROTTER”

Leave a Reply

